16 serving JKAS officers inducted into IAS after 12 years – Jammu Kashmir Latest News | Tourism


Condition of a kept under seal, 2 garbage inductions

Excelsior Correspondent

JAMMU, August 3: The Department of Personnel and Trainings has today issued an official notification for the induction of 16 Jammu and Kashmir Administrative Service (JKAS) officers into the Indian Administrative Service (IAS).

Click here to watch the video

A total of 28 inductions were approved by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) during its meeting with senior J&K and DoPT government officials last month. Among them, eight withdrew from the services, one died while the fate of another was sealed in the envelope for an investigation. Two JKAS officers declined to be inducted into the IAS.
The induction list of 16 JKAS officers into the IAS was released by the DoPT today.
These inductions were made possible through the tireless efforts of Arun Kumar Mehta, Chief Secretary, and Manoj Kumar Dwivedi, Principal Secretary, GAD under the leadership of Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha.
The GAD Principal Secretary took the initiative by first resolving seniority disputes, followed by internal promotions, and then inductions of JKAS officers into the IAS after a 12-year hiatus.
Sixteen serving JKAS officers have been inducted into the IAS for the years 2013-2018. Three officers were appointed for the 2013 vacancies, two for the 2016 vacancies, three for the 2017 vacancies while eight vacancies were filled for the year 2018.
The JKAS officers of the 1999 batch are the main beneficiaries of the inductions which were carried out solely on the basis of seniority after the seniority list was finalized by the GAD.
Many IAS officers were currently in charge of twin departments and promotions would likely lighten their burden in addition to boosting local officer morale.
With inductions becoming a regular feature, more JKAS officers are likely to benefit from their induction into the prestigious Indian Administrative Service.
The exercise to integrate JKAS officers into the IAS was delayed due to seniority disputes and some other issues.
However, the General Administration Department headed by Manoj Kumar Dwivedi, initiated the exercise last year, which eventually resulted in today’s notification.
The year of allocation of IAS will be finalized at a later date.
Three officers promoted for the 2013 vacancies are Talat Parvez Iqbal Rohella, Commissioner/Secretary, Reception and Protocol, Rukhsana Gani, President of the J&K Special Court and Rehana Batul, Commissioner/Secretary of Public Grievances.
There were no vacancies for the years 2014 and 2015.
Two officers were inducted into the IAS for 2016 vacancies, including Mir Tariq Ali, Director General of Women and Children’s Development and Amit Sharma, Secretary of Administrative Reforms, Inspections and Trainings and Mines.
Three JKAS officers have been promoted to IAS for 2017 year vacancies.
They are Nazim Zai Khan, Secretary for Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation, Shakeel-ur-Rehman Rather, Food Security Commissioner and Pardeep Kumar, Director of Archives, Archeology and Museums .
The highest number of eight JKAS officers were inducted into the IAS compared to vacancies for the year 2018.
They include Rahul Sharma, Secretary General of Administration Department, Narinder Singh Bali, Secretary of Forestry Department, Aijaz Ahmad Bhat, Secretary of Labor and Employment, Hashmat Ali Yatoo, Administrator of Srinagar Associated Hospitals, Majid Khalil Ahmad Drabu, Comptroller of Forensic Meteorology Department, Mohammad Iqbal Wani, Agriculture Secretary, Sheikh Arshad Ayub, IG Registrations and Rajesh Sharma, Custodian General.


Comments are closed.