Former WQAD meteorologist announces candidacy for US Congress


The former WQAD meteorologist and several others have announced they are running for Rep. Cheri Bustos’ U.S. congressional seat.

MOLINE, Ill. — Eric Sorensen announced Wednesday, Nov. 10, that he will run for the Democratic nomination in Illinois’ 17th congressional district, a seat Rep. Cheri Bustos has held since 2013.

Sorensen is a Marketing and Communications Specialist at UnityPoint Health – Trinity. What made him a public figure, however, was his time as a meteorologist for 7 years at WQAD and 11 years at WREX in Rockford, Illinois.

RELATED: SORENSEN SENDOFF: A Fun and Loving Farewell to GMQC Meteorologist Eric Sorensen

“For me, being a meteorologist has always been about protecting our neighbors and our communities,” Sorensen said in Wednesday’s announcement. “I’m running for Congress because the people of Northwest and Central Illinois need a representative they know and can trust.”

Sorensen, a climate advocate, said in the statement that climate change is a serious issue for his campaign. He said his scientific training and ability to communicate the consequences of changing weather patterns set him apart from others.

“Pressing issues like climate change shouldn’t be political,” Sorensen said in the statement. “My job as a meteorologist is to tell the truth because people’s lives are literally at stake. We need more honesty and more action in Washington.

Rep. Bustos announced in April that she would not seek a sixth term in Congress.

Three-time Rockford State Representative Litesa Wallace also announced Wednesday that she will join Democrats Sorensen, Angie Normoyle and Jonathan Logemann and Republicans Charlie Helmick and Esther Joy King in the 2022 race for the Bustos seat.

Wallace holds a doctorate in educational psychology and has worked as an educator and activist, co-founding the Rockford Anti-Racism Network and serving on the Diversifying Faculty in Higher Education Board.

Who will represent Illinois’ 17th District will be decided in the November 8, 2022 general election.


Comments are closed.