Heavy showers of more than 150 mm likely


COLOMBO (News 1st); The showery conditions prevailing in the southwestern part (Western, Sabaragamuwa and Central provinces and in Galle and Matara districts) of the island are expected to continue, according to the Department of Meteorology.

As a result, showers or thunderstorms will occasionally occur in Western, Sabaragamuwa, Central and North Western provinces and Galle and Matara districts, while very heavy showers above 150mm may occur. produce in some places in Sabaragamuwa province and Kandy and Nuwara-Eliya districts. . Heavy showers above 100mm may occur in parts of Western Province and Galle and Matara districts as well.

Several episodes of showers will occur in the Northern Province and in the districts of Anuradhapura and Hambantota.

Showers or thunderstorms will occur in a few places in Uva and Eastern provinces during the evening or night.

Strong winds ((40-50) km/h) can sometimes be expected on the western slopes of the central hills, the North, North-Central and North-West provinces and in Hambantota district.

The general public is urged to take adequate precautions to minimize damage from temporary localized strong winds and lightning during thunderstorms.

Meanwhile, many low-lying areas in the Ratnapura region were flooded due to the prevailing rains. The Director of the Hydrology and Disaster Management Unit of the Irrigation Department, SPC Engineer Sugiswara said people living in low lying areas of Bulathsinhala region should be vigilant due to the rising of the water level of the Kuda River due to the prevailing rains.

As a result, early warnings were issued for Bulathsinhala and Ingiriya Divisional Secretariats in Kalutara District and Gaga Ihala Korale and Pasbage Korale Divisional Secretariats in Kandy District.

Landslide early warnings have been issued for Bulathkohupitiya, Aranayake, Yatiyantota, Deraniyagala, Dehiowita and Ruwanwella Division Secretariats in Kegalle District and Kotapola and Pitabeddara Division Secretariats in Matara District, and for Ambagamuwa, Kotmale and Nuwara Eliya Division Secretariats in Nuwara Eliya District. .

Meanwhile, warnings have been issued to the Divisional Secretariats of Ratnapura, Eheliyagoda, Ayagama and Elapatha in Ratnapura District in both categories and to the Divisional Secretariats of NIDithigala, Kalawana, Imbulpe, Godakawela, Kolonna, Kuruwila Balangoda and Kiriella.


Comments are closed.